Hola! (from Sara El Hassani, visiting Casa Media Luna)

 
March 29, 2012 by saraelhassani

Perfecto! I’m writing here from Casa Media Luna, in Andalucia. Ken has positioned me in the comfiest soft chair on the terrace, directly facing the soft, warm, pale lemon morning sun. I am enveloped in peace and stillness. I hear only some distant birdsong and the low, rumbling sounds of agricultural activity from neighbouring farms. I look across to see layers and layers of mountains in the hazy, creamy, golden light. (On a clear day, I would be able to see across to the Sierra Nevada mountains.)

Ken and his cabbage!

Ken has become a man of the land. On our journey from the airport, he talked with great joy and enthusiasm about all the vegetables he is now growing, including broccoli, butternut squash, beetroot, cabbage and tomatoes. (We enjoyed the most delicious home-grown broccoli and squash with our dinner yesterday evening.) He also pointed out the plum blossom trees, with their white and pink flowers in full bloom. When I expressed my delight and excitement at seeing the big, fat, bright yellow lemons hanging from the trees, Ken made a small detour to show me an orange grove lining a street in Colmenar village, with big, fat oranges growing (and falling) in abundance.

Erika is as ever, in her own inimitable way, magically pulling everything together to make everything work just right! Erika reminds me of the Quaker quote I love so much ‘walking over this earth with a smile’. I tasted her home-made almond milk this morning, natural and unsweetened and utterly delicious.

Tango in Bar Campesino

Although I was exhausted by my early start and turbulent plane journey yesterday, I felt sufficiently revived after an afternoon rest and a delicious meal, to go with Ken and Erika to their tango class in Colmenar village. What a lovely evening! For me, it was sheer joy to dance once again with my favourite teachers, and to experience the lovely, warm atmosphere and sense of real fun that they create between them, and which makes the whole experience so enjoyable. Most of the group were beginners, but they were keen, relaxed and responsive. After the class we all headed across the road to a little Spanish bar, where we danced until midnight.

Sara taking in the views from the Alcazaba of Málaga

The day before I flew out here, I was treated to a session of reiki at the Macmillan centre. My therapist listened to me speak a while and then said ‘It’s lovely that you’re going to Spain to stay with friends. Now I want you to visualise putting those feelings of sadness and your concerns into an envelope. Seal the envelope and put it on a shelf. Don’t take it with you. Just leave it on the shelf for later.’ This has to be the best place imaginable for leaving your worries behind, and for just being.

This entry was posted in Casa Media Luna and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment