Adiós Colmenar – by guest blogger Sara El Hassani

March 31, 2012 by saraelhassani

Ken and Erika

It’s my last evening here with Ken and Erika in Colmenar, and time to write my final blog entry from Andalucia. As I write, I am looking out at the mountains while a lovely log fire burns brightly behind me.  The evening sun casts a rosy glow over the mountains causing them to glint and glisten in the evening light. Outside there is a strong smell of wood smoke in the air. This place is peaceful beyond description and worlds away from the hustle and bustle of home.

Erika, busy altering my vintage jumpsuit

Erika has kindly been altering a vintage cat suit that I bought in Malaga yesterday. It was a great surprise to find a second hand shop there, and an even better surprise to find an outfit so utterly suitable for tango!  We drove to Malaga by the old road which wended its way through the forests of the Montes de Malaga. The route was spectacularly beautiful, especially as we descended towards the sea and the old town.  

Sara and Erika

Malaga town itself is a lovely mix of old and new with almost as many churches as shops, and a brand new marina where the rich and famous hang out with their ‘super yachts’! There was also a sense of impending excitement in the air, as preparations were being made for Semana Santa (Holy Week).  From tomorrow, hundreds of men will carry very heavy, painted statues of the Virgin Mary, and process with entire communities up and down the narrow, hilly streets of every town and village in Spain, for the whole week leading up to Easter day.

Sardines en la playa

Knowing my love of local markets, Ken and Erika took me to Caleta de Velez today for the weekly Saturday market. The fruit and vegetables were beyond compare, and the smell of spices from the vast range of teas on offer was intoxicating. Erika and I both bought some green tea with mango to try, and it’s absolutely delicious! After the market, we went on to Torre del Mar where we ate a seafood lunch of freshly barbecued sardines, grilled calamares, piri piri prawns and a delicious mixed salad outside a beach bar, facing the Mediterranean.

Sara and Ken

I hear that some visitors come to stay and view Casa Media Luna as a retreat. I’m not at all surprised. I have so enjoyed wrapping myself up in the soft, white, fluffy robes provided, and sitting outside with my cup of tea  watching the mountains in the morning light, or curling up by the log fire in the evening. The promise of Argentinean tango just completes the magic!

This entry was posted in Casa Media Luna and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment